Political System of Bhutan

Home / About Bhutan / Political System of Bhutan

Bhutan has a tri-cameral parliament consisting of the King, the National Council and the National Assembly. His Majesty the King Jigme Khesar Namgyal Wangchuck is the head of the state. He became the youngest reigning monarch in the world when he was crowned as fifth king on Bhutan on November 6, 2008.

The National Council which functions as upper house has 25 members, five appointed by the King and 20 elected from the 20 districts.

The National Assembly or the lower house consists of 47 members elected from the country’s 47 constituencies.

Bhutan is the youngest democracy in the world when it elected both house of representative in March 2008 with Lyonchen (Prime Minister) Jigmi Y. Thinley (the President of Druk Phuensum Tshogpa or DPT) as the first democratically elected Prime Minister of Bhutan, and Bhutan’s transition to democracy from absolute monarchy (of 100 years) has been a smooth one.

The present Prime Minister is Lyonchen Tshering Tobgay,( the President of People Democratic Party or PDP ) elected on 2013 during the second election of deoocracy.